Dealing with Disruptive Students in Blackboard Virtual Classroom

From Blackboard Wiki
Revision as of 23:29, 20 September 2021 by Agalka (Talk | contribs) (Removing permissions)

Jump to: navigation, search

Removing permissions

If students are using the collaborative features in Blackboard's Virtual Classroom to disrupt the class, follow the steps below to disable those features for students.

  1. In your Virtual Classroom, click the purple tab with the two chevrons found in the bottom left corner of your screen to open your collaborate panel.
    "purple button to open collaborate panel"
  2. Select the gear icon in the bottom menu and select Session Settings.
    "gear icon and Session Settings"
  3. In the Session Settings, remove the check mark beside the option you want to remove for your students by clicking on the check mark. You can remove the ability to Share Audio, Share Video, Post chat Messages and/or Draw on whiteboard and files. The action takes effect immediately without a save or submit option.
"remove permissions"

You can also remove a student from a Virtual Classroom. Select the Participants icon in the bottom menu.

"Participant icon"

Click the three dots beside the student you would like to remove from the classroom and select Remove from session.

"Remove from session"

To enable a student to speak, write a chat, turn on their video, or interact with a white board, you will need to enable these options for everyone. Select the gear icon in the bottom menu, select Session Settings. and click in the box to add a check mark beside the option you want to enable for your students.

Alternatively, you can promote individual students to Presenter to allow them to speak, write, turn on their video, and interact with the white board temporarily, returning them to Participant when they are finished. Note: Presenter permission will also permit them to advance and interact with the slides and share content with the class.